Show It

Delivery, Delivery, Delivery! I have mentioned before that I have been required to attend a number of school sponsored Creative fiction readings. Sometimes regardless of the quality of the poem, I just cannot appreciate it the way I would like to. Why? Because of the poets delivery. Let me remind you dear watcher that  one the foundations of rhetoric is audience! Delivery is Important. Let me paint a picture for you. Let’s say that you are in a MFA graduate program. you have decided that your life’s work will be poetry. You painstakingly learn your craft. You have spent years dedicated to this pursuit. You have spent months writing and re-writing the same poem making sure that every line, every word is perfect. You get invited or are required to share this work at a MFA reading sponsored by your school. Why would you stand in front of your peers and read your poem off of a sheet of paper. If you spent so much time, blood, sweat and tears to perfect your poetry would you neglect your audience and read from a piece of paper. now I know what you are thinking, I am a poet not a performer. I would argue that the nature of poetry, the cadence, the rhythm, the passion that you have invested deserves better. You don’t have to be perfect, but you should at least memorize your work. Slam poets know this. They don’t submit their work to academics lifeless on the page . They perform in front of real people, a real audience, that judges their work immediately. They are in touch with their audience intimately. I don’t understand how any MFA program could graduate a poet that didn’t at least commit their poem to memory. I would like to thank the artists who’s videos I pilfered from YouTube. Both of the poets and their poems are wonderful. Thank you Nazelah and Jody Rampo.

Leave a Reply

